Texas A&M has received an award from the National Science Foundation to promote regional Cyber expertise in a multi-institution partnership led by PI Dhruva Chakravorty, Associate Director for User Services & Research at Texas A&M High Performance Research Computing. SWEETER encompasses partners located across Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona. It unites a collection of institutions of higher learning, ranging from community colleges to R1 universities. Partners include Texas A&M University, University of Texas at Austin, the two research-extensive institutions in the two major public university systems in Texas. They are joined by Prairie View A&M University, a historically black college or university (HBCU), and five Hispanic Serving Institutions (HSIs): New Mexico State University, University of Arizona, University of Texas at San Antonio, Texas A&M San Antonio and West Texas A&M University. SWEETER also includes not-for-profits and industrial partners who see how these relationships will benefit researchers. Our goals, as a result, include enabling peer-to-peer research support, organizing on-premise workshops, and building research collaboratives. By leveraging our extensive experience in education and outreach, along with our industry partners, Amazon Web Services and Google, we will touch on the K-12, undergraduate, graduate, researchers and system administrator spheres of training. TAMIDS Director Dr. Nick Duffield will serve as educational coordinator for CC* Team: SWEETER–SouthWest Expertise in Expanding, Training, Education and Research.

National Science Foundation Logo

Our Purpose

The Sweeter collaboration will leverage its partners’ expertise in computational sciences and large scale computing to address long-standing bottlenecks to sharing resources across institutions. It will increase accessibility in areas including Data Science and AI, cloud computing, visualization, cybersecurity, and bioinformatics. The project will unite participants from ten universities and community colleges from across Texas, New Mexico and Arizona.

PI/Co-PI Team

  • Dhruva Chakravorty (Principal Investigator, Texas A&M University)
  • Timothy Cockerill (Co-Principal Investigator, University of Texas at Austin)
  • JoAnn Browning (Co-Principal Investigator, University of Texas at San Antonio)
  • Emily Hunt (Co-Principal Investigator, West Texas A&M)
  • Diana Dugas (Co-Principal Investigator, New Mexico State University)

This project is supported by NSF award number 1925764